Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/26/2017 7:21:12 PM EDT
Just looking for some opinions. Since thermal is so expensive would you be better off buying a upper level night vision instead of say a $4000 thermal. It's going on a AR15 used for hogs and coyotes. Thanks for any advice I'm new to this type of hunting.
Link Posted: 7/26/2017 7:22:58 PM EDT
[#1]
Meant to add this needs to be a clip on.
Link Posted: 7/26/2017 7:25:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 7/26/2017 7:37:13 PM EDT
[#3]
What he said. Beat to death.
Link Posted: 7/26/2017 7:44:30 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks will do.
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 1:04:04 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 2:25:57 PM EDT
[#6]
While night vision is still best for identification ... this too will change.

Night vision isn't going to have significant technology advancements.

Thermal will continue to have technology advancements and larger sensor arrays coming online.

It the not too distant future, thermal will rule for identification.
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 2:30:10 PM EDT
[#7]
^I do believe he's correct. As the tech progresses thermal will be king on both fronts.
That being said high end NVG is amazing technology and in a choice between current (today) available technology I think you're money ahead going with NVG.

It's very much and left and right hand situation though.
Thermal for detection, NVG for identification.

As always, get both.
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 3:18:04 PM EDT
[#8]
I'm looking at clip on mainly because I have a ACOG on the LWRC now and don't want to go back and forth.
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 7:48:28 PM EDT
[#9]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I'm looking at clip on mainly because I have a ACOG on the LWRC now and don't want to go back and forth.
View Quote