Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/18/2017 8:01:46 PM EDT
with tubes becoming as scarce as i've been reading into should i try looking into a new tube still or try and have the power supply fixed?

i have a pair with one dead tube and i'm looking into converting them into a more modern binocular looking setup.

any recommendations y'all can give me or should i just salvage the one useable tube and cut my losses.
Link Posted: 7/18/2017 8:07:52 PM EDT
[#1]
I have not had any luck finding aftermarket housing that could use a PVS-5 tube.
Link Posted: 7/18/2017 8:10:34 PM EDT
[#2]
also i'm fairly new to everything and i'd like to do as much as i can myself so any items i can use to update or convert. let me know.
Link Posted: 7/19/2017 6:16:28 AM EDT
[#3]
I have recently made 3d printed housing that accept PVS-5 lenses and tube housing. If testing go ok I will share some pics. Otherwise if you have PVS-5C version you can use dual PVS14 mount.
Link Posted: 7/19/2017 2:16:26 PM EDT
[#4]
also i have the very small objective lenses. i've seen several photos with the larger pvs14 size lens. is this a simple conversion as well?
Link Posted: 7/19/2017 8:05:28 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
also i have the very small objective lenses. i've seen several photos with the larger pvs14 size lens. is this a simple conversion as well?
View Quote
The small objectives are on the non-lettered and A models. You are talking about PVS-5C objectives, not PVS-14 objectives. And if you can find them its a simple swap, but they will likely be spendy since they are very good glass.
Link Posted: 7/20/2017 3:09:11 AM EDT
[#6]