Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/22/2014 11:50:53 AM EDT
I'm new to gen III NV since it was mostly out of my budget  range. I managed to pick up this unit used from a retailer (usnightvision pvs14). Over all it seems to be in good shape besides some signs of use, like the battery cover capture wire was broken and there is a small nick in the ocular lens.  I detect no burn marks or other anomalies in the image, the edges are crisp. In low light viewing it will do the small black traces when looking at a relatively bright light compared to the ambient light, like a light bulb on a distant house. In brighter conditions it does not do this. There were some tiny black spots which turned out to be dirt on the tube. I figure the nitrogen purge is long since compromised. No writing on the part of the tube that was visible with the ocular lens removed (is that normal?) I suppose I would have to disassemble the unit further to determine the type of tube (I would like to know).

I read somewhere here that to truly test the tube you need to see how it performs in a very dark environment.  Last night was heavy cloud cover and no moon, so I snapped a couple pics. The first is nearly pitch black to the naked eye, the second there was a little more ambient.  The ipad does not take very good pics, I had to turn the gain up to get an image.  Through the naked eye the image was much better on  a lower gain setting. I'm interested in the opinion of those with more experience.  The unit cost me $1200. Thanks in advance.

Link Posted: 11/22/2014 12:20:26 PM EDT
[#1]