Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/30/2014 4:40:28 PM EDT
I am still somewhat new to NVG………………………..

I noticed that my envis a MUCH clearer than pitbull.  I assume its due to the difference between optics. Has anybody else noticed Envis optics are clearer?

I’ve only had a few chances to try out my new NOD (pitbull), but I noticed that the objective lens on my is usually  set to near infinity (about couple mm away from all the way to infitity).  Most of the adjustments are far viewing about 3 feet and closer.  This makes most of the focus useless unless your looking at something close.    (hopefully you understand what I am trying to describe) Is this normal?  I was thinking that maybe the objective lens wasn’t installed properly, but doubt because it was installed & purged by AB Nightvision.

Off topic: Which one do you prefer better?  Both pics using same tube (mx10160c)

Envis

Pitbull / PVS 14 optics / DIY screw in amber filter / 680nm IR Filter

Thanks,

Link Posted: 10/30/2014 6:50:35 PM EDT
[#1]
Envis optics are glorious. I noticed the same thing when i switched my tube out. Miss the more accurate focusing too
Link Posted: 10/31/2014 1:24:50 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Envis optics are glorious. I noticed the same thing when i switched my tube out. Miss the more accurate focusing too
View Quote

This, not sure what optics the Pit has but probably not milspec and Envis optics are milspec and hard to beat. Some commercial lenses are pretty good especially when you factor in the cost difference.

I like the factory Micro lens but it is not a Envis lens so I swap them.
Link Posted: 10/31/2014 3:36:51 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

This, not sure what optics the Pit has but probably not milspec and Envis optics are milspec and hard to beat. Some commercial lenses are pretty good especially when you factor in the cost difference.

View Quote View All Quotes