Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/27/2015 7:40:38 PM EDT
Howdy!

I am thinking about fitting a large Siler percussion to my large Siler flint. I'll make my own drum so I can switch
back & forth between flint & percussion. Since I am new to caps, which cap is the best performing in y'alls
opinion?

Cap size #10 or #11?

Dynamit-Nobel / RWS ?

CCI?

Remington?

Which flash cup style do you like or hate?

Thanks in advance! :)
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:41:33 AM EDT
[#1]
#11 are easier to find in my part of the world. As are CCI and Remington's.  None of my cap locks have a flash cup.
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 5:51:17 PM EDT
[#2]
If you find #10 caps I would appreciate where.  They are non-existent here.
Link Posted: 5/29/2015 11:02:12 AM EDT
[#3]
I thought #10s were for pistols.

Anyway, given the choice of brands- stick with the CCI.   edited to add: i have not used the others you mentioned so no experience.
I missed a deer because a Remington cap misfired.  Had a whole tin that were about %50 reliable.  I used them on the range and bought CCIs for hunting.
Link Posted: 5/29/2015 7:48:01 PM EDT
[#4]
Around here, we only ever see #11 caps and Musket caps.  #10's are somewhat rare.
Link Posted: 5/29/2015 7:59:48 PM EDT
[#5]
I've thought about the musket caps too. I hear that they are supposed to be hotter than the
#11's or the magnums.....
Link Posted: 5/30/2015 7:00:25 PM EDT
[#6]
They are.  But it's more of a military grade thing to insure ignition.
You'll need a bigger nipple, though.
Link Posted: 5/30/2015 7:38:15 PM EDT
[#7]
I would not mind having to go to a bigger nipple at all....

Harharharhar
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!