Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/21/2016 8:09:49 PM EDT
I found a Winchester 1917 at a local shop for $550. Stock looks great, metal is parkerized, the receiver and the floor plate have the same number on them. The barrel is stamped 9-18 behind the front sight, the bolt has a W stamped on the underside of the bolt handle. Also stamped on the barrel is CAI, so my question is did Century put these things together or just import them. It looks awesome, but if Century had their hands on it I will probably pass. Thanks everyone
Link Posted: 8/21/2016 8:16:11 PM EDT
[#1]
They should just be the importer, but I'm not an expert.
Link Posted: 8/21/2016 8:29:02 PM EDT
[#2]
That's what I'm thinking as well
Link Posted: 8/21/2016 10:54:15 PM EDT
[#3]
I found a Winchester 1917 at a local shop for $550. Stock looks great, metal is parkerized, the receiver and the floor plate have the same number on them. The barrel is stamped 9-18 behind the front sight, the bolt has a W stamped on the underside of the bolt handle. Also stamped on the barrel is CAI, so my question is did Century put these things together or just import them. It looks awesome, but if Century had their hands on it I will probably pass. Thanks everyone
View Quote

Century did some awful things to Enfields.  I just recently saw two of their abortions. These guns started out as Pattern 14 Canadian drill rifles, with a huge hole drilled from side to side through the barrel and stock, in the chamber area.  Century rebarreled them with surplus American M1917 barrels that they had, and substituted a few other parts to make ersatz M1917's! Of course the hole in the stock was still there. A company that would do that is capable of anything.