Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/28/2015 8:40:25 PM EDT
Have had this rifle for a while now, but never really got around to figuring out all of the details of the rifle.  I am still fairly new to K98s, so hopefully some more knowledgeable people on these rifles can help solve some of my questions.

Is it common to have both the eagle and nazi marks on the rifle?  From what I've read, this was usually the case for rifles during the transition period of markings?

It seems like the finish on the trigger guard and butt plate either completely wore off or someone possibly sanded it.  However, from what I can see, it doesn't look like there are any sanding marks on the metal pieces that could give that away.  The rifle is also fairly worn in other areas of the rifle as well, which can be seen on the other metal bands/parts of the rifle.  

The stock looks like it has been sanded on the surface, since the areas where the sling would loop through are a darker finish.  It seems like whoever sanded it sanded it fairly lightly though, as the markings on the stock can still be seen.  Should I just leave the stock as is or is there a way to darken the stock without ruining it any further?  

Thanks!

-Don
Link Posted: 6/29/2015 4:44:03 AM EDT
[#1]
Yes on the Weimar and Swastikas.

Maybe a Yugo rework on that one.

Barrel has been replaced.
Link Posted: 6/29/2015 9:19:45 AM EDT
[#2]
The butt plate should be in-the-white, but the floorplate and trigger guard should be blued.  Looks like someone removed the bluing for some reason.  The stock has been lightly sanded; the cartouches were left alone though, so that is good.  Looks like someone had added a swivel stud to the bottom of the stock at some point also.
Link Posted: 6/29/2015 11:09:51 AM EDT
[#3]
Butt plate looks white to me.

And I don't know what made me think it could be yugo rework.
Link Posted: 6/29/2015 12:14:52 PM EDT
[#4]