Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/26/2015 5:52:45 PM EDT
I have never had much luck with the search function on this site. Saying that I am asking a question that has probably been beat to death. I bought my wife a 10/22 Carbine for Christmas. I also got her a 3 pack of 10 round magazines. These all work fine in the rifle. I then bought her 2 BX 25 round mags, and 1 Butler Creek 25 round, steel lipped mag. We went to the range and ALL mags worked fine. Went to range today,( guns 3 trip to range) and NONE of the 25 rounders would work. They would fire 1 round, then the bolt would stick open. Not by the bolt hold open, but by the left side of the magazine. Any ideas? I am new to 10/22s, but not to shooting (52 years) I am stumped as to what to do about this problem. Any and all help appreciated.
Thanks much,
Mark
Link Posted: 5/26/2015 5:55:04 PM EDT
[#1]
Take them apart and clean them

Have you e-mailed ruger?
Link Posted: 5/26/2015 6:21:04 PM EDT
[#2]
Did you take the action out of the stock at all?

It sounds like the side of the magazine is tight against the side of the stock. I would see if that is where the drag is and if that could be holding the mag to one side.
Link Posted: 5/26/2015 9:08:52 PM EDT
[#3]
I didn't even think of cleaning them after only 25 rounds had been run through them, but I will. I have not contacted Ruger yet, but was going to call them tomorrow. We are talking about a gun that was NIB in December, and has only been to the range 3 times. For this reason, I was leery of tearing the gun or the mags down. But I will clean both the gun and the mags, unless Ruger wants them all sent back. Thanks for your help. We'll see what Ruger says.

Thank You,
Mark
Link Posted: 5/27/2015 7:12:06 PM EDT
[#4]