Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/29/2016 8:21:57 PM EDT
I am new to "Hard" body armor....I am a police officer and am looking to supplement my "EDC" with an active shooter rig I can throw in my vehicle and have at hand for any SHTF moments....

I am looking at picking up either the SKD PIG Plate Carrier, or the Shellback Patriot Plate Carrier.....HSGI Double Decker Tacos, and a small med kit or probably just a tourniquet.

I am looking for curved plates, shooters cut, 10x12 as I believe this is what will fit me, 5'9" 175lbs....Looking for good plates, Ive seen some pretty big price differences...obviously I don't want to go cheap, but I also don't want to buy something and find out I paid more than I needed to either...

Any suggestions? Thanks.
Link Posted: 4/29/2016 8:32:24 PM EDT
[#1]
If your looking for steel plates, level 3 ones are cheap on Ebay, just get the Duracoated ones from what I have read. PC is a personal choice, whatever style you think would best fit your needs really.
Link Posted: 4/29/2016 8:49:57 PM EDT
[#2]
Spartan Armor Systems (formerly TheTargetMan) - https://www.spartanarmorsystems.com/

They make good stuff, have free shipping, and give you a bit of a price break if you order add-ons (like side plates, carrier, and trauma pads) at the same time you order your plates.

I'd recommend at least adding the pads to up your comfort level.  
You might wait and see if they run a sale on Memorial Day or the 4th of July.
Link Posted: 4/29/2016 9:38:23 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 4/30/2016 1:04:18 AM EDT
[#4]
LEO here as well, I'm running AR500 steel plates in a banshee with a 3x AR mag pouch and a med kit.  Rides behind the drivers seat bungee corded to the half cage.
Link Posted: 4/30/2016 5:00:50 AM EDT
[#5]
1.) What threat level/bullet do you want to stop?
2.) How much do you want to spend?

3.) How thin/light do you want the armor?