Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/3/2014 8:44:42 PM EDT

I am somewhat new to body armor.

I have a tactical tailor plate carrier, with side plate carriers.  got plates.  gtg.

but, I can't help notice that, even though my vital organs are covered, everything below that is not covered.  

I have seen groin protection add ons that appear to hang off of a plate carrier and increase protection somewhat, and I was considering that.

what do you guys use for protection  below the vest plate carrier?  

looking for first hand experience.

thanks

Link Posted: 8/3/2014 9:37:54 PM EDT
[#1]
Soft armor.  You can't cover everything in plate.
Link Posted: 8/4/2014 3:01:42 AM EDT
[#2]
The idea of plates is to keep your heart and lungs safe. You can live a lot longer with a stomach wound than a heart or lung wound. Ideally, full protection would be nice, but sacrifices need to be made to keep you combat effective and not too heavy.
Link Posted: 8/4/2014 3:37:03 AM EDT
[#3]
Maybe consider a longish size police-style soft armor vest under your PC? I used to have one that extended from the sternum notch to almost my navel. Below that, I'd strongly consider a battle belt with soft armor--the VTAC Brokos and Blue Force Gear belts are, IIRC, two with that option.
But as the first response indicated, plates covering your entire torso just won't be practical.
Link Posted: 8/4/2014 4:50:08 AM EDT
[#4]
What about side plates on the PC? I noticed a bunch of guys in the Spec Ops pic thread in GD don't use them. Some do, but lots don't. Any specific reason why?
Link Posted: 8/4/2014 7:52:38 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 8/4/2014 5:52:59 PM EDT
[#6]