Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 4/15/2017 12:15:15 PM EDT
What are some things to look out for when buying used.

I want to make a SBS, so I really do not want to cut up a beautiful Belgium made shotgun, but other then shooting one I know nothing about the platform.

Any gotchas, or links for some knowledge?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 4/15/2017 1:08:59 PM EDT
[#1]
Buy replacement bbl, chop that?
Link Posted: 4/15/2017 1:28:29 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Buy replacement bbl, chop that?
View Quote
Thanks for the reply.... do the barrels need to be fitted or something?  I am a total newbie on the A5

I do not own an A5 either, so is there a specific model/year I should look out for that lends itself best to SBS?  I have seen some gorgeous ones in the pic threads in here, and another thread in here pushed me over the edge so to speak to go on the hunt for a donor LOL  

What year/model of an Auto-5 would an A5 professional seek out to be specifically turned into a short barrel shotgun?

Thanks
Link Posted: 4/15/2017 1:39:49 PM EDT
[#3]
Might seem like a dumb question, but have you shot an A5 before? It's recoil operated (not gas) so it's a different beast.  ETA: just reread the OP and it looks like you have shot one before.

I used to shoot a 12g A5 dove hunting and hated it (it was my pop's). I got an 1100 and life was much better. Just wondering if you have a specific reason for an A5 or just want an auto loader.
Link Posted: 4/15/2017 8:48:09 PM EDT
[#4]
Safety inside the front of the trigger guard makes it an "old one".

Cross bolt safety in the trigger guard makes it a "new" one (I think sometime in the 50's).

They have to be set up right with the friction rings for the power of the ammo you're shooting.  Set the friction rings up wrong or put some lube on the magazine tube and it'll kick you harder than if set up correctly.