Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/31/2014 5:16:22 PM EDT
I have been shooting backyard clays for a couple years now with my semi auto. I am going to shoot a couple matches at a club in the coming month's and am ready to upgrade my shotgun. I am thinking of an OU with atleast a 30" set of barrels. I am trying to keep the price around $700 give or take a little. What are the hives suggestions?
Link Posted: 8/31/2014 6:20:02 PM EDT
[#1]
You might be able to find a used Browning Citori or Beretta 686 in that price range, but at that price it will likely have fixed chokes.  You will get a better selection if you can expand your budget to $900-$1000.

Some will advise you to look at lower end O/Us such as Huglu, Baikal or TriStar.  Those lower end guns might last a thousand rounds or so without problems, but they will begin to self destruct after that.  Also, the crappy triggers will cause you to develop all sorts of bad habits in clay shooting.
Link Posted: 8/31/2014 6:29:20 PM EDT
[#2]
So if I do up my budget what would you suggest? Also what chokes should I use?
Link Posted: 8/31/2014 8:10:55 PM EDT
[#3]
I shoot a Browning, friends shoot Berettas....best to try both... if you can find one of the newer Browning Citoris with the Invector Plus choke tubes, they typically come with factory lengthened  forcing cones and back bored... I shoot a light modified extended Briley choke... I have one in my 21" Benelli also
Link Posted: 8/31/2014 8:43:10 PM EDT
[#4]
Read, read a lot.  Shotgunworld and trapshooters have lots of good information.  Lots of BS also - like GD here.

It really depends on how much you want to shoot.  Good O/U's cost $, inexpensive O/U's give up something - quality, warranty, something.  A gal I know started with a Baikal o/u field gun.  It made it a couple years and the triggers crapped out in the middle of the state skeet tournament.  She upgraded to a Beretta (682).