Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/16/2015 8:07:26 PM EDT
Although I've been shooting for over 60 yrs, I'm new to the 1911, except for an 18 month stint in the RVN.  My Range Officer LW Champion has arrived and she is a beauty.  I have thus far fondled but not fired her.  The trigger breaks like glass, but is heavy.  In other pistols I've had I used a snap cap to protect the firing pin.  They were usually supplied with new pistols.  Not this time.  Can I dry fire the RO without damaging it?  I'm talking about several hundred times.
Link Posted: 8/16/2015 8:25:29 PM EDT
[#1]
You are gtg on the dry firing.  Many pros will tell you they dry fire as much as they practice with live ammo.  If you want to use snap caps, that is ok, but make sure you load them from a mag, not just dropping one in the chamber and letting the slide close on it.  That could wear on/break the extractor.
Link Posted: 8/16/2015 9:43:14 PM EDT
[#2]
I've dry fired a 1911 tens of thousands of times and haven't ever seen a problem with the firing pin.  Do check the firing pin spring regularly and keep spares on hand to change them if you see any broken coils.  Also inspect the firing pin stop for cracks and change when they develop.
Link Posted: 8/17/2015 12:31:36 PM EDT
[#3]
Dry firing -- pulling the trigger and dropping the hammer -- does no harm to a 1911.

Dropping the slide on an empty gun DOES, eventually cause damage to the sear.

So pull the trigger, but lower the slide gently.
Link Posted: 8/17/2015 1:21:15 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Dry firing -- pulling the trigger and dropping the hammer -- does no harm to a 1911.

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:

This

Quoted: