User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/21/2015 4:43:37 AM EDT
So I'm considering:
Kydex vs leather
Homemade vs bought
Practical vs BBQ status
and go!

ETA: I've made kydex holsters before, but I have no experience with leather working, so homemade and leather wouldn't go together without some experimentation. My kydex stuff has turned out pretty good, but there is something to be said for dropping some coin and having something I don't have to screw with show up at my door step.

Currently the gun has a TLR-1 light mounted, which I would consider taking off/replacing with a different light, if the holster is nice enough to warrant the change. Any suggestions would be considered, especially suggestions involving a better performing light. The TLR-1 is just something I had kicking around.

ETA 2: any holster fitting a Springfield TRP full rail will fit, I just haven't seen many options out there, so crowd-sourcing ideas it is
Link Posted: 3/21/2015 10:46:27 AM EDT
[#1]
I have a Kydex one from Bladetech that allows a mounted light.  I've never used it, got it cheap on a whim.    I'd suggest getting one without a light mounted, since it's what I use most.

Most of a photo of it.

Link Posted: 3/21/2015 5:42:23 PM EDT
[#2]
Well... I'm just the opposite. My pistols have lights on them and the holsters hold them that way just fine.  

Of course there are two or three custom kydex holster places here in the springs.  Since it get dark when the sun goes down the lights are already mount and I am used to carrying (and using) them that way.

One place I go to I coordinate and get about a three hours turn around since I give the pistol and light. Usually they have the blue-pistols but few folks besides bladeTec has that many lights.

With kydex I found that I like the pancake style with belt loops over the paddle design.
Link Posted: 3/24/2015 6:36:49 AM EDT
[#3]