Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/30/2015 1:19:38 AM EDT
I'm relatively new to firearms and have several SA pistols plus a couple of AR rifles. I have always used Hoppes #9 to clean all the parts on all the weapons then use a bit of oil to lubricate them. It's always seemed to work out though I can't say I'm a big fan of how the Hoppes smells.

I have occasionally used Gun Scrubber to try and get some of the more difficult-to-reach places clean on the AR but I'm not really sure it actually cleans. It just seems to strip all the oils out the metal and you have to make sure you lubricate well afterwards.

I have read numerous posts about cleaning with CLP or FireClean and so forth and thought I'd give FireClean a try. Maybe I'm new but I don't seem to get it . . . . or I'm doing it wrong.

I cleaned a weapon a week ago and tried to be careful with how much F/C I used while cleaning. After shooting the weapon today I broke it down and found oil splatter all over inside the gun. I began the cleaning process using dry patches to clean up all the oil and gunpowder residue sludge inside the gun. Then I used a lightly oiled patch to try and actually clean the gun like I did last time. Today though i followed this by using a dry patch to try and remove as much oil as possible. I then lightly lubricating the parts I normally would. I'm hoping that the next time I shoot there wont be as much sludge and oil splatter.

To me, it doesn't seem as though there's any advantage to an oil based cleaner . . . . . at least as far as process is concerned. With Hoppes it's: clean, lube, reassemble. With F/C it's: remove sludge, clean with F/C, dry clean the gun to remove oil (to reduce future sludge), lightly lube, reassemble. What am I missing or doing wrong?