Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/5/2013 10:27:38 PM EDT
Are there any professional gunsmith or Armorers (or shooters who have multiple guns who change their own sights) on here that install sights everyday.   If so, what is your preferred method and tools that you use for installing sights?

MGW has a new tool coming out,  and I'm thinking about getting it.
Link Posted: 10/11/2013 5:06:50 PM EDT
[#1]
The problem with sight tools is that they are not typically designed to be universal.  A professional gunsmith likely has multiple sight tools.

I am not a pro gunsmith, but I work on my own guns and I use a tool from sightpusher.com to change or adjust sights.  It has worked well for me so far.

It's cheap and comes with inserts to fit Glock, XD, XDM,  M&P, Beretta etc.  I would not say this is the "best" tool, but it is one tool that will cover many different guns because you can change the blocks/shims and it has both a flat and slanted pusher.
Link Posted: 10/26/2013 5:47:02 PM EDT
[#2]

That looks nice Wildcat.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Link Posted: 11/20/2013 12:07:36 AM EDT
[#3]
I purchased MGW's sight pushers for H&K P2000/USP, and M&P and M&P Shield.

I've had too many "issues" with gunsmiths in the past for what should be a simple sight installation. If you want it done right...
Link Posted: 1/23/2014 8:25:51 PM EDT
[#4]
I do it enough to purchase the correct tools, I just purchased a MGW Sight Pro tool.  it is there new universal sight tool, just buy shoes for the guns that you own.  I've used it to replace sights on a couple of guns so far and they work just great.  Tool was a bit pricey but still a lot less than buying a couple of different tools for different manufactures, also this tool will handle high suppressor sights, the main reason I got it.
Link Posted: 6/16/2014 12:22:26 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: