Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/30/2014 2:53:36 PM EDT
I know this has been asked before but I am going to start again. I am going to get a G19 in the next few days, I can get either a Gen3 or a Gen4. I have heard some bad things about Gen4 guns. Are they mostly the internet chatter or is it a fact? I am going to have an rmr installed in the future, old eyes with bifocals. I currently have a G17, G21 with an rmr and a G22, so I am not a Glock newbie. But I have been riding the 1911 train for awhile now. So help a brother out.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 7/30/2014 3:20:27 PM EDT
[#1]
Cant go wrong with a gen 3 g19. I personally wouldnt pay extra for the ambi. mag release and different backstraps.
Link Posted: 7/30/2014 3:20:27 PM EDT
[#2]
I would get a gen 3 because the grip isn't aggressive and when carrying it doesn't agitate the skin. Some might say, just use some sandpaper. Lol
Link Posted: 7/30/2014 3:33:19 PM EDT
[#3]
I tried the Gen4, I kept popping the magazine loose inadvertently and went back to the Gen3.

The Gen4s are nice guns, but I prefer the Gen3.
Link Posted: 7/30/2014 5:06:58 PM EDT
[#4]
I much prefer the Gen4.  The Gen3 texture is too slippery for me (my hands sweat a lot.)  Also, you get an extra mag with the Gen4, so the cost difference is negligible.  Gen4 FTW.
Link Posted: 7/30/2014 5:41:38 PM EDT
[#5]
Glock has been having problems with both 3rd Gen and Gen4 9mm guns, so that is a wash. The best thing you can do is go get them in your hands and see which feels better. I bought a 3rd Gen G19 a couple of years ago and, after feeling the way the Gen4s feel, I wish I would have gotten a Gen4. For me, the Gen4 guns just feel a lot better. The 3rd Gen is good, but the Gen4 is better for me. You may like the 3rd Gen better, though, which is why I said to try them both. Both should work out well for you, so choose the one that feels better.

Bub75