Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 12/15/2013 3:02:58 PM EDT
I am new to the site, so please forgive me if I missed this subject in another post, but I am looking into building a Bulgarian AK-74 from a flat. My direct question would be as follows: Can you use the standard 555th jig dimensions to make a bending jig that will work for an AK-74 receiver? I am a machinist apprentice, so I have the ability to make this jig, and if the 555th dimensions need to be a bit different for a 74 then all I would need is a different print with different dimension. On a side note, I have heard of guys using a standard AK 47 Tapco flat to make an AK 74, however I will be using an AKBuilder AK 74 flat for a fixed stock. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks, -Ryan
Link Posted: 12/15/2013 5:17:36 PM EDT
[#1]
The difference between an AKM receiver and a '74 receiver is the magwell opening and ejector (if it's already installed). I wouldn't use an AKM receiver to build a '74 but you could open the magwell on a '74 receiver to fit AKM mags.
Link Posted: 12/16/2013 1:54:53 PM EDT
[#2]
I am going to be using an AK-74 flat to start, I just need to know if I can use the same bending jig to bend it on the shop press. Thanks, -Ryan
Link Posted: 12/16/2013 5:19:33 PM EDT
[#3]
You can bend them on the same jig and die.

Here's the AK Builder tool: http://ak-builder.com/index.php?dispatch=categories.view&category_id=186
Link Posted: 12/16/2013 5:40:36 PM EDT
[#4]
Alright, cool that answers my question. I guess the next step is acquiring the materials necessary to machine the jig and spending some time hanging out after work. Thanks for the help, it is greatly appreciated, -Ryan
Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!