Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/29/2017 10:59:37 PM EDT
Recently ordered a brick of Brown Bear .223. I've had some bad experiences before with a colt and lacquered ammo due to improper cleaning, so I was curious - what's y'all's favorite chemicals/brushes for cleaning after shooting lacquered steel case? Will regular Hoppes No. 9 solvent take care of it, or is there something else that does a better job at cleaning out the chamber?
Link Posted: 4/29/2017 11:32:32 PM EDT
[#1]
CLP & a chamber brush works for me.
Link Posted: 4/29/2017 11:50:42 PM EDT
[#2]
It's not laquer, never has been.

It's just more carbon buildup from the steel not expanding to seal the chamber as well as brass does. Use whatever carbon solvent you like and your chamber brush. Mpro-7 works great, but Hoppes works, or Hoppes Elite, or whatever you normally use. Just spend an extra thirty seconds spinning the chamber brush a few more times.
Link Posted: 4/30/2017 1:33:21 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
It's not laquer, never has been.

It's just more carbon buildup from the steel not expanding to seal the chamber as well as brass does.
View Quote
Really?  TIL, I always thought it was the lacquer melting in the hot chamber.

Wow. I've told some people some really stupid info, haven't I? Good to know though, I'll get a chamber brush and go from there!
Link Posted: 5/1/2017 1:58:41 PM EDT
[#4]
Hose it out with non chlorinated brake cleaner every 1k rounds or so.
Link Posted: 5/2/2017 12:54:48 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted: