Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/23/2016 7:22:23 PM EDT
I'm new to ARs. Today I set out to lube the rifle for the first time.  Used ARMY TM 9-1005-319-10 as a guide and watched a few vids. All went well until I removed the extractor assembly and noticed there is no spring. No, I did not lose it, am certain of it, I was quite careful. Here's a pic.  This is a  PSA 5.56 Full Auto Nickel Boron Premium BCG

Is there supposed to be a spring? Or just the rubber o-ring?

Thanks

Link Posted: 11/23/2016 8:43:46 PM EDT
[#1]
I suppose the right sized O ring might do everything a spring would do but I don't know what the mfg had in mind.

Best bet would be to get a call to them
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 1:25:11 AM EDT
[#2]
It's hard to tell from this angle but it appears you have a spring. Just lift the o-ring to see if there is a spring on it.

The o-ring is considered an "upgrade" to the extractor spring in terms of reliability. Basically you put the o-ring around the spring. If you didn't have a spring, the o-ring would not stay on like it is.

If you're watching old military videos, they probably don't have a o-ring on the extractor. It's only a recent upgrade for the military to use a o-ring and use a H buffer. You don't actually need the o-ring and you can take it off if you wish.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 1:50:43 AM EDT
[#3]
From this pic, it looks like there is a spring there.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 1:56:30 AM EDT
[#4]
I see a black insert, spring, and an o-ring.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 1:59:44 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

I see the same thing
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 2:39:19 AM EDT
[#6]
Looks like it's there,  I'd replace it with a BCM spring anyway.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 3:33:54 AM EDT
[#7]