Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/20/2015 10:51:33 PM EDT
First. this is a question about BreakFree CLP. I'm not really interested in anything other than BreakFree CLP. I have my reasons.

My reasons. I am a US Navy veteran of 14 years working in aviation. during this time, we used BreakFree and P-D-680 on pretty much everything that didn't have a specific requirements. Naval aircraft weapon systems use it pretty much exclusively as a CLP for pretty much the whole time I was in. It's what I know, It's what I like, and it's what I use. Only looking for BreakFree info here.

Breakfree CLP has changed a bit since I was in. My old Mil-L-63460 supply has finally run out and I had to get a new gallon of the civilian stuff. I understand that its not up to Mil-PRF-63460 Rev E standards and that is my main question, what did it not pass. Also, since the recipe has changed a bit, what is the solvent content and what solvent do they use. We used to cut it with P-D-680, which was pretty much a type of mineral spirits, as needed to suit our needs. Could I use Mil-PRF-680, which I have read is basically a type of naphtha, in the same way? I have downloaded the MSDS and its pretty much useless for answering these things, I miss having access to the military MSDSs with all the ingredients listed.

Thanks in advance for any info you all may offer.
Link Posted: 3/20/2015 11:29:36 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm still looking to get my hands on the old stuff with the white Teflon.        I clean with the Safariland CLP and Mobil 1  in a  50/50 mix.   and when I'm all done cleaning and wiping down the weapons.  I place a small coat of the original CLP ( I guard like gold )    over the  moving parts.
Link Posted: 3/21/2015 1:40:27 PM EDT
[#2]