Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/22/2015 11:28:05 AM EDT
I have a M&P sport 16" that was converted to a low profile gas block and free float hand guard.When I shoot the brass ejects at about 4:30 to maybe 5 o'clock and when I shoot the bolt will stay open on the last round; however when my daughter or son shoots it the bolt will not stay open on the last round. The gas port is .067" and I have verified twice that the gas block is lined up properly and has no signs of leakage. I have shot about 150 rounds through it so far so is this a case of it just needing to wear in some or should I open the gas port to a #50 drill (.070"). I have also tried to make sure they are getting a solid mount on the rifle to their shoulder and have a good grip.

is there anything else I can check? I am new to the AR platform and since I am primarily a bolt action guy I am a noobie to the semi auto rifles so any advice is welcomed!

Also I am using new Winchester and Remington 55gr ammo through the Magpul Pmag.
Link Posted: 7/22/2015 1:21:12 PM EDT
[#1]
If you're able to shoot the rifle without issue and your son and daughter are on the small side, I would chalk this issue up to recoil management. Doesnt matter how well they're shouldering the rifle, if they're being pushed back when they fire that might induce short stroking.
Link Posted: 7/23/2015 9:50:27 AM EDT
[#2]
I will have to watch them more closely, My son is smaller he is 5'5 and maybe 100 so that may be an issue with his stature handling the recoil. My daughter is 5'8 and 120 she seems to handle the recoil well, ie not moving around too much with each shots and her followup shots always seem to be right on target. She is wanting to get into 3 gun so we are trying to get all the bugs worked out of the guns and and her before she starts her first competition.
Link Posted: 7/23/2015 11:14:01 AM EDT
[#3]