Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/20/2017 9:19:20 PM EDT
I am currently a college student and in my free time I wanted something to do so I thought I'd biuld one. After watching hours of youtube videos and reading threads I decided I wanted to use mostly Vltor parts. I was able to get a Vltor MUR Vulcan upper from their website at a reasonable price. Next I went with a Vltor complete lower and their 15" keymod rail. I decided to use a Faxon barrel and VG6 Gamma comp. When I was sighting it in I had trouble getting a tight group at 50 yards but figured it was user error and not the rifle since I hadn't shot rifles much. I noticed there was a fair about of play between the upper and lower and being OCD it annoyed me. After reading threads about the tolerances between the upper and lower I just decided to live with it and that nothing was wrong. After a few trips to the gun store and feeling how tight a DPMS was I was a little more annoyed that I spent so much on all of the quality parts and there seemed to be a lot of play. I decided to email Vltor about how much was to much play. They told me that the Mil-spec tolerance for play between upper and lower is .011. I took the rifle to my local gun smith to see if they would be able to give me a answer. They told me they they didnt need to measure it because it rattled so much.After contacting Vltor again they wanted me to send off the whole rifle so they could take a look at it. After about 3 days they contacted me and told me the upper receiver was out of spec and would be replaced free of charge. Only downside is the upper is back ordered so no specific time on when I would get it back. They also told me the rail somehow was out of spec which I have no clue how that could happen but they would replace it as well. I have to say even though its been a pain with spending so much money on reputable parts and havin