Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/6/2016 11:17:15 AM EDT
From the Youtube guide I'm using... It makes it sound like you always should check headspacing, which of course, requires more things to buy to test it... As part of my two builds, I bought two complete uppers from Palmetto State Armory - It was my understanding that you don't need to check headspacing when you start with a complete upper... Is that correct?
Link Posted: 12/6/2016 11:20:04 AM EDT
[#1]
its already headspaced at the factory
Link Posted: 12/6/2016 12:08:25 PM EDT
[#2]
It never hurts to check it, but with a complete factory upper and BCG, it's also usually not necessary.
Link Posted: 12/6/2016 3:06:48 PM EDT
[#3]
I am not an expert and have factory builds and my own builds.  I do check headspacing- just because, but have never found anything even close to being out of whack.  However, all of my 556 chambers measure as 223 except one, and that is a BCM BFH barrel that seems to be reamed properly, albeit a bit tight.  So chamber measuring/reaming is far more important to me.
I use the 223/556? gage:  http://m-guns.com/tools.php 
Link Posted: 12/6/2016 8:12:28 PM EDT
[#4]
I think my set cost $40 when I bought them, I check

“Down and Dirty” Headspace Gauges
here
Link Posted: 12/6/2016 11:09:28 PM EDT
[#5]
Unless you're going to build many rifles, would it be cheaper to just go to your local gun shop and let the gunsmith check it for you?  They might even do it for free if you're buying something or using the range.
Link Posted: 12/7/2016 10:53:49 AM EDT
[#6]
I always check headspace.
I don’t buy from PSA, but I have seen ‘factory’ built uppers fail headspace with the bolt that shipped with the upper.
Link Posted: 12/7/2016 11:29:25 AM EDT
[#7]