Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 7/26/2016 2:45:41 PM EDT
This is my first build.  PSA (magpul MOE enhanced  kit) APF lower.

Free float or not?
Link Posted: 7/26/2016 2:49:07 PM EDT
[#1]
I say yes, free float.  It'll help out your accuracy a little and reduce POI shift from using barriers and shooting rests.  Also, a fixed FSB can really be annoying if youre planning on running optics of any kind.

Truthfully it's more preference than practicality, but IMO, FF is better when available.
Link Posted: 7/26/2016 3:04:17 PM EDT
[#2]
That is the way I was leaning. What are some good options for parts kits to do this job?  I know PSA offers very low cost pre assembled uppers but.....
Better options out there still ar reasonable cost?  This will be a flattop with some MBUS pop up sights.
Also any suggestions as to free float handguards and all that is required to have a free floating barrel.
Link Posted: 7/26/2016 4:22:48 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
That is the way I was leaning. What are some good options for parts kits to do this job?  I know PSA offers very low cost pre assembled uppers but.....
Better options out there still ar reasonable cost?  This will be a flattop with some MBUS pop up sights.
Also any suggestions as to free float handguards and all that is required to have a free floating barrel.
View Quote

If youre looking at pre-assembled, PSA prices are hard to beat.  You could probably shave a few dollars by doing it yourself (depending on who has what in stock), but youd have to buy the tools and PSA would probably beat your build in quality.