Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/20/2016 10:51:25 PM EDT
I am gathering parts for my first accuracy build, and I believe that with the sale that LaRue is currently having, a 18" 5.56 PredatAR Barrel with M4 feed ramps will be a good choice. My intention is to purchase the barrel, the barrel nut, and the gas block with the gas tube, all from LaRue, and all on the same order.  I might just order one of his triggers as well…

My question is about the barrel nut and my as yet undecided handguard choice.  If I use the LaRue barrel nut, is this only compatible with a LaRue forearm?  I have no experience with the myriad of free-floating handguards out there but it seems that most of them use their own proprietary barrel nut, or am I missing something?

Thank you in advance for any opinions you might offer.

Link Posted: 7/21/2016 2:27:34 AM EDT
[#1]
Personally, I would hold off on the nut. As you said, most handguards use their own proprietary mounting systems. The LaRue nut will just become a paperweight. Just my opinion.
Link Posted: 7/21/2016 2:49:27 AM EDT
[#2]
I'm doing the same build and have the same question! I look forward to the responses!
Link Posted: 7/21/2016 6:32:25 AM EDT
[#3]
Doing that build with an 18" Stealth. I have those parts, but since I'm using an SLR Solo handguard, I'm using their barrel nut. I'll still use the LaRue block and tube, but the barrel nut won't make it. May get a better answer in the LaRue forum.
Link Posted: 7/21/2016 7:47:39 AM EDT
[#4]
If going for accuracy the stealth barrels might be a better option:
http://www.larue.com/556-stealth-barrel

I'm looking at those myself just not sure if I want to go 18" or 20".  I only have a 16" right now.
Link Posted: 7/21/2016 9:15:50 AM EDT
[#5]