Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 7/3/2015 10:30:53 PM EDT
Hi all, I am new to this forum but have been browsing it for a while. This is my first build and I am stuck or confused about the fitment of barrels to handguards to gas blocks. I would like a high quality 5.56 16" barrel. I would also like a handguard rail that covers the barrel at least 3/4 of the way or more. I went on ar15builder.com and I was mixing and matching barrels to handguards and most of the time it tells me they are not compatible. What should I know before spending my money on parts that wont fit together? Any recommendations on barrels? on gas blocks/systems? I would also like a long gas line.
Example of the handguard:
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/3058145777/troy-industries-bravo-battle-rail-free-float-quad-rail-handguard-ar-15?cm_vc=ProductFinding
This is not the exact one I want but something along those lines.
So basically my question is.... does it matter what barrel/handgurad combination I buy? Will I have a problem with the gas system?

Thanks
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 10:40:07 PM EDT
[#1]
16" barrel with midlength gas, lo-pro gas block .750", 12-13" handguard.
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 10:47:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Make sure you buy the right length gas tube for the port location on the barrel you buy. The two common gas lengths for 16" barrels are carbine and mid length.

Get a low profile gas block like the YHM 9383 and a 12" or so free float rail. The free float rail will cover the gas block.

The most common diameter at the gas port is .750. Some lightweight barrels are .625 and you will need a corresponding gas block to whichever aize you go with. If the diameter isn't listed it's usually a .750 diameter at the gas block.
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 10:51:51 PM EDT
[#3]
OK that's helps a lot! Thank You!
Would you recommend a longer barrel length? Any particular companies you would recommend?