Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/1/2015 6:43:02 PM EDT
I have an older Bushmaster A2 upper with a 14.5" barrel with a pinned flashider.  I'd like to bring it up to modern standards and swap the upper for an A3 flattop (going to keep the the rest as is).  The existing upoer has no feed ramps while the barrel has the rifle style feed ramps.  My question therefore is how much hassle is to actually do something like that or would it be more cost-effective just to sell it and buy a new upper in the style I prefer.  If I do end up going with an jpper swap, what upper should I chose to match the fi ish on my mid-1990s Bushmaster lower (I presume I would need something without the M4 feed ramps to match the style of my older barrel)?
Link Posted: 3/2/2015 5:34:51 AM EDT
[#1]
1) You will need to dig our the pin from the flash hider and the FH will be trashed. Mine was.
2) Either press or drive the out the pins holding the sight tower. Remove the front sight.
3) You will need a barrel nut tool to remove the barrel nut. Also need a vise and upper receiver clamshell holder.
4) grease the threads on the new receiver and assemble using a torque wrench to get the minimum 35lbs on the barrel nut.
5) reassemble the sight
6) put a new FH on and drill/pin/weld to barrel (need a welder, silver solder or take it to someone that can)

All that said, it depends on what tools you already have and if you want to go through the above steps to change to a flattop upper. Unless you already have all the tools (including the vise), it will be less expensive to just buy another upper in the configuration you want.

If it were me, I'd keep what you have and build up or buy another upper in the configuration you want.
Link Posted: 3/2/2015 6:31:17 AM EDT
[#2]