Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/26/2015 9:48:57 PM EDT
This is my first build and I went with an Aero Precision upper already cerakoted, and an Aero Precision lower, just anodized black(color to match upper not available that I see). I just got them yesterday and was checking them out. They seem awfully tight. Like squeeze hard to get them to got together kind of tight. I'd like to get the lower done professionally to match but now I'm freaking out that assembling this thing will be a nightmare now. Anyone have some wisdom to share on this matter please? Almost have all the pieces at this point and I can't wait to start. Thanks everyone!
Link Posted: 2/26/2015 10:33:04 PM EDT
[#1]
My local gunsmith also does a lot of cerakote work and I've seen plenty of AR Uppers and Lowers done by him and all look good.  Never heard any of his customers complain about the tiight fit.  I have two Aero Precision based lowers and an Aero Precision upper I building now.  I really like their products and I'm sure you will too.
Link Posted: 2/27/2015 12:53:27 AM EDT
[#2]
Hey man. I also chose Aero for a recent build and have about the same experience. I got an upper/lower kit and they are super tight. When I put the thing together I found that the rear pivot pin would not go through without some pretty serious coercing. Everything went together fine (as far as internals) it’s just getting the upper to mate with the lower that is a pain in the ass. I've taken to dremeling the sticking point to try and help things. Still love the look and I’d rather have it lock up tight than wobble around. Also as a side note I had a barrel cerakoted and had a hell of a time getting the gas block on. Might just be isolated to me but I’ve found that cerakote adds more material then people give it credit for. I try to keep that in mind on future builds.
Link Posted: 2/27/2015 2:09:45 AM EDT
[#3]