Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/2/2014 7:32:49 AM EDT
Hi

I have had a lot of experience with pistols and I would like to move on to an AR-15. I had a very short experience with one a few years ago. Anyway, I'm intrigued by the idea of building my own. I like building things myself with the satisfaction that it was done right and learning from the experience. That said, I also want to save money going this route. I'm interested in building the most basic version, nothing special on it. Just a simple carry handle iron sight is perfect to me. I've watched a ton of videos on the assembly procedure and it doesn't look too hard. The lower receiver looks simple. The upper looks like it could be a little more complicated...are there any specific tools needed for that? Does it come out cheaper assembling your own upper or is it just as cost effective to buy one complete?

So far I think I know what all the parts I need are, I'm not too sure on what incompatibilities there may be or what brands might be junk and what brands are good. Anyone want to help me out to point me in the right direction?

I'm perfectly fine building parts here and there when they are on sale, especially with black Friday coming up I assume there might be sales?

Thanks for any help.

Link Posted: 10/2/2014 7:47:26 AM EDT
[#1]