Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/19/2014 1:03:51 PM EDT
I have been wanting to build an AR-15 for a long time now, and just got my lower!
I was hoping you all could point me in the right direction from here.
Where is the best place to go to get a comprehensive and hopefully picture filled guide to building an AR?
Also, Is it worth buying the upper in parts or, as it's my first build, should I just get an already assembled one?

I'm currently just sitting in that no mans land of "ok what do I do now". I appreciate the your patience and your answers.
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 1:05:32 PM EDT
[#1]
I just thought of another question. Are all lowers created the same? Meaning will they all have the same pins and connectors for an upper and all the guts inside?

Thanks
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 1:37:41 PM EDT
[#2]
Check out you youtube.

Basically everything is industry standard on a lower so parts are interchangeable regardless of manufacturer. Many follow milspec so they are universal. Some items like the buffer tube can be milspec or commercial so they require they same buttstock. But both will fit a lower. Just go with a milspec buffer tube and milspec buffer tube and you will be fine

Good luck
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 1:41:32 PM EDT
[#3]
There is usually not much savings in building an upper because they  are easy to build and not much parts but you will need some tools that may be priced like barrel wrench 40.00 and a torque wrench. Also vise block and something to hold upper receiver or better yet a geissele reaction rod.

The advantage of building a upper is the knowledge u learn and picking and choosing your parts.

But plenty of great uppers to choose from that are about the same price to build usually without the tools.
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 1:42:21 PM EDT
[#4]