Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/19/2014 12:01:40 AM EDT
I'm pretty new to AR.  I shot a few before but thats about it.  I thought about buying one but been told I should build one instead since I can do what I want to.  I never built one before so I got several questions and would appreciate the help.  One what are some good sites to get AR parts?  What are all of the parts I need for a basic AR?  Also I want to build an AR that can shoot 5.56 but also .22 and 9mm if I want.  Is it possible to build one like that.  I heard that the lower shouldn't be a problem as long as you switch out the upper.  Is this right?  Thanks for the help.
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 12:31:07 AM EDT
[#1]
Lower
Lower Parts Kit
Stock
Buffer
Buffer Spring
Buffer Plate
Buffer Tube
Buffer Tube Nut
Upper
Bolt Carrier Group
Charging Handle
Forward Assist Assembly
Dust Cover
Barrel
Barrel Nut
Gas Tube
Flash Hider
Flash Hider Washer
Gas Block
Rail

Sites depends on what you're looking for.

To shoot 22, you just need a .22 Conversion kit. Should be able to shoot it out of the same 5.56 barrel.

9mm - No, just no.
You'll need a new upper, 9mm BCG, 9mm magazines, 9mm mag block... Sounds more like a pain than anything. If you have the money, go for it. Good luck.
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 1:17:23 AM EDT
[#2]
Thanks for the help.  I knew I wanted to do the 5.56 and .22 for sure.  The 9mm was just wishful thinking.
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 1:20:31 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 5:51:41 AM EDT
[#4]
For my first AR I used a rifle kit.  Makes it easy as it comes with everything but lower receiver.  They have some of these at AIM, Palmetto, and Del ton.
Link Posted: 9/19/2014 8:35:26 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: