Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/31/2014 5:56:12 PM EDT
I'm not sure if this would be the correct place to ask this or not, but here it goes. I'm not sure if there are any lawyers here or not, but I'm 19, turning 20 in a week today, so I can't just go out and buy an AR15, or stripped lower. I just bought a rifle kit for my birthday, and my uncle is talking about buying me a stripped lower for my birthday. I'd just like to stay a law-abiding citizen, and not risk having all my gun rights revoked. So is it legal to gift an AR15, or no? I live in MN by the way.. I've searched the web but nothing more than yahoo answers.. And I don't much trust that. Thanks!
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 6:16:29 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm no lawyer but... I'm pretty sure you can have or own a gun, you just can't purchase one.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 6:24:43 PM EDT
[#2]
Thats what I thought.. Maybe I'll just try to call a lawyer sometime. From everything I've heard/read lately not even a lawyer could keep track.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 6:26:57 PM EDT
[#3]
I could be wrong, but I think it would have to be gifted by an immediate family member. Like the last poster said, you should be able to own/possess one, just not legally purchase
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 6:47:39 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I could be wrong, but I think it would have to be gifted by an immediate family member. Like the last poster said, you should be able to own/possess one, just not legally purchase
View Quote

And you're all incorrect.  It's not illegal to purchase a handgun or lower if you're under 21, it's just illegal for an FFL to sell or transfer you one.

Private sales are OK if you're over 18, and even under 18 with parental permission.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 7:41:57 PM EDT
[#5]
See the instructions for Question 11a and 11b on the ATF Form 4473: