Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/2/2013 7:08:19 AM EDT
I'm a first time builder and a buddy of mine got me a jig for my welcome home present, now all I need is a drill press as I'm definately interested in building a multitude of rifles over the coming years.  I'm just looking for something simple right now and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions or if something like this would work.
http://www.harborfreight.com/garage-shop/stationary-drill-press/5-speed-bench-drill-press-60238-9067.html
Thanks for all your input in advance gents.
Link Posted: 8/2/2013 8:21:05 AM EDT
[#1]
The best drill press for doing a lower is a proper mill.  However,

If you must use a drill press, borrow a friend's or buy something a bit stiffer and larger.  The one you provided a URL for doesn't look like it'd have the vertical clearance to do the fcg well, especially after you try to mount a vise of some sort or some clamps to hold your work, even if you do away with the little table and clamp directly to the base.

Without an xy table, you'll also be unclamping, manually moving, and reclamping for every single hole.

Figure allowing at least a foot from the retracted spindle to the table surface, depending on how big your vise or clamping system ends up being.  Whatever you get, allow for an xy table of some sort, so you can line up on an axis, then just move the table to each next hole location without having to unclamp and reclamp your work every time.
Link Posted: 8/2/2013 1:58:35 PM EDT
[#2]
Jet makes some very rigid drill presses that are less than $1000.
Link Posted: 8/2/2013 2:24:20 PM EDT
[#3]
Tag for interest. Wondering if my 17" Steel City drill press would be up to the task.
Link Posted: 8/2/2013 2:26:48 PM EDT
[#4]