Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Lights and Lasers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 2/26/2015 5:26:41 PM EDT
Alright, I'm not exactly new to Surefire lights, but I'm relatively new to the Scout series.  As of right now, I seem to be having a slight issue that I just noticed with an M600U mounted on an IWC Dropwing mount.

So, the light is currently mounted on a KAC RAS via the IWC mount.  I was dry firing and noticed that the light was momentarily activating for a split second without me touching the tailcap.

Every time I would rack the CH and let the BCG ram home, the light would discharge for a split second.  Also, if I dry fired the rifle, when the hammer would slam home on the firing pin, the light would activate for a split second.  Just seems odd to me.

I have another M600U that is still on the stock picatinny mount that doesn't seem to exhibit these symptoms and I've had a handful of different Millenium series lights that didn't either, so it has me wondering.  I'm not all that comfortable having a weaponlight that discharges without my input and it seems this may be an issue considering I have another one that doesn't do it.

Has anybody else seen this?
Link Posted: 2/26/2015 6:23:41 PM EDT
[#1]
Odd, to say the least.  Make sure everything is installed correctly tighten head and tailcaps.  If it still persists try changing the batteries.
Link Posted: 2/26/2015 6:24:56 PM EDT
[#2]
I've seen and experienced the same issue when I had the same setup. I've also experienced it with the stock mount, though I don't recall it being as bad as when using the IWC mount. I just attributed it to battery bounce in the light and moved on with it. It never bothered me and the millisecond of light that flashes was a non-issue when I noticed it at night. I figure if I'm racking a round in the dark and they're close enough to see a millisecond of light, then me chambering a round would give me away first.