Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Lights and Lasers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/7/2011 5:59:24 AM EDT
I am a bit new to the idea of an IR laser, and could use a little help - I know there is an outpout limit on what a civilian end user can purchase, and I am not sure "reasonably" priced and quality ones are out there.  I don't need a 1,000 yard IR laser, just something that works within 200 yards and might work indoors in a pinch.  Not  necessarily looking to homebrew one, an actaul production unit with a waranty (or I could go used too) is my preference.

Any advice/help would be appreciated!

Link Posted: 10/7/2011 5:52:59 AM EDT
[#1]
These are the only civilian legal IR lasers that I know of.

http://www.tnvc.com/shop/category/laser-systems/
Link Posted: 10/7/2011 6:10:11 AM EDT
[#2]
It really depends on your definition of "reasonably priced". At this point there's only a couple options, all made by LDI. The Class 1 IRs will work great for your purposes.

From the link so you don't have to wade through C1 and C3 lasers:
EOLAD (IR laser mounted on an Eotech)- $1100
DBAL I^2 IR/Green- $896
DBAL I^2 IR/Red- $741
ITAL or OTAL (IR only)- $525

They're great lasers from all reports. I have an IR/Green one, but due to unforeseen circumstances when I bought it, I've only gotten to play w/ the green laser.
Link Posted: 10/7/2011 6:32:06 AM EDT
[#3]
There are a couple of cheaper options:

LaserMax UNI-IR runs $350ish
DIY Beamshot 1000 conversion $150

Do an archive search on the DIY Beamshot.  But basically you get a Beamshot 1000 red laser and replace the red laser diode with a IR laser diode.  It isn't hard, although a tad tricky to put it in as you need three hands to get it in.

Link Posted: 10/7/2011 6:37:56 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 10/7/2011 7:44:03 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted: