Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 2/16/2017 1:59:16 AM EDT
Looking for  a illuminated 4-16x40 with a 1in tube . planning on spending $100-150, but can't decide on what to get.
I have no experience with barska, are they o.k.? Decent lens, clear on high power?
I like my other bushnell but not sure about these "banner dusk-dawn" models because of the reticle in it. To much extra crap in view.

Anyone have experience with either scope, good or bad? Or maybe another option in this range?
Mostly used as a range shooter but might be a ground hog killer this summer.
Link Posted: 2/16/2017 2:07:42 AM EDT
[#1]
Barska is junk. Save a little more and buy a lower end Vortex. It comes with a warranty that is worth the extra hundred bucks. Find one of these lightly used or new old stock. They were $250 new.

http://www.vortexoptics.com/discontinued/vortex-crossfire-4-16x50-ao-riflescope-mil-dot-illuminated-reticle
Link Posted: 2/16/2017 2:11:13 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Barska is junk. Save a little more and buy a lower end Vortex. It comes with a warranty that is worth the extra hundred bucks.
View Quote
Link Posted: 2/16/2017 10:08:08 AM EDT
[#3]
Ditch the illumination in favor of better glass and mechanics.  You can't have usable glass and illumination at that price point.

As magnification increases glass quality becomes more important and the higher magnification blurs.  Stick to a 2-7x or 3-9x scope.  A big blob is useless.  I can see more detail with a high end 2-7x scope than lesser scopes with twice the magnification.

Barska is heavy, poorly made junk.
Link Posted: 2/16/2017 12:42:42 PM EDT
[#4]
I was quite surprised by the new Bushnell AR series scope I zero'd on an AR for a friend.

It was a 3-9x version, I think they come in a 3-12x and 4-18x.  Definitely better than any Barska I've seen.