Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 2/13/2016 1:08:26 PM EDT
Hi, I'm completely new to the AR platform and recently purchased a Colt LE6920MPS-B.  This AR has a fixed front site post.  I am looking for a good optic to add to it and was really looking into the Aimpoint Pro since it has rave reviews.  However, after talking to my local gunsmith who specializes in AR builds, he has questioned why I want to spend $500.00 an an optic.  A little background about myself will shed light at that question.  I am the type of person that would rather cough up the money for a quality item rather than spending 1/2 the cost on something cheap that I will eventually have to replace anyway.  I would really hate to put a crappy cheap optic on a decent quality AR such as the Colt.  That being said, my local gunsmith has suggested the Primary Arms 5.56 Micro CQB optic with the standard mount that comes with it.  He's saying it will be about 1/2 the cost of the Aimpoint Pro setup.  I went to Primary Arms website but didnt see the exact model he is suggesting, however, he did mention it was supposed to be released later this month.  The gunsmith also said a local County law enforcement agency had him build AR's for them and used optics made by Primary Arms and were quite pleased.  One thing that I noticed upon doing research on Primary Arms is that the optics are made in China which I really don't like.  However, that may also be true for Aimpoint (I haven't researched where Aimpoint Pros are made).  So my question is should I save up for the Aimpoint Pro and spend the money or should I settle for something cheaper like the Primary Arms Micro CQB?  Furthermore, my gunsmith is also suggestin an absolute cowitness setup vs a lower third cowitness setup.  I've read advantages/disadvantages for both and I originally decided to go with lower third but he's also trying to talk