Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/20/2014 4:34:42 PM EDT
*Disclaimer*
I am fairly new to the world of reflex sights.
I will not be spending hundreds of dollars on a sight.
Being active military we are trained to use iron sights and those are good enough.
(I am not a mall ninja or a tacticool fanboy)
High end optics are fun for military applications however I see no practical situation for civilian use.
My question is for research purposes that Google cannot satisfy.
*End disclaimer*

Has anyone out there tried etching or drawing their own reticle on a cheap or lower end reflex sight?

I realize there will be problems with parallax but as far as a quick acquisition and reliability does it work well?

I have some theories about bore sighting and marking it that way and have yet to try just wanted to do some digging
Link Posted: 8/20/2014 4:43:32 PM EDT
[#1]
Are you thinking of just drawing it on a lens? I doubt that would work out to well. Wouldn't that be like trying to aim the gun with just a front site?

ETA: if you are concerned with reliability, either spend the money for a good sight or use a good pair of irons. The sight is just as important as the rifle. What good is the rifle if you can't see or hit what you need to?
Link Posted: 8/20/2014 4:48:02 PM EDT
[#2]

just paint your FSP orange if you want to see it quicker rather than screw around with drawing on optics.

then come back when you get over "good enough" and want something that's actually better in every single way
Link Posted: 8/20/2014 4:51:10 PM EDT
[#3]
"good enough" for what? as far as hitting paper or the occasional predator on the back 40 I cant justify the price of an ACOG because they are marketed specifically for those who cant normally afford them i.e. military/ law enforcement.
just merely asking if anyone has tried it
Link Posted: 8/20/2014 5:32:41 PM EDT
[#4]