Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/6/2011 9:41:45 AM EDT
i have a spikes tactical with 16" barrel.  i'd like for it to double as a SHTF gun and a hog hunting gun.

i have a cheap red dot on it along with MBUIS.  i cant hit crap with the red dot and intend to take it off permanently.  i'm considering going with a 1-4x adjustable scope for normal target shooting and hunting, and a green laser for short range quick target acquisition type situations.  this way the gun can perform both functions without having to take off and put on accessories.

does anyone have a better idea?  i'm getting mixed opinions on the 1-4x scopes.  some people love them and some people say they'd rather just have iron sights than a measly 4x scope.  

i'm pretty much a total noob, i just got my AR about a month ago and i have a lot to learn, so go easy please.
Link Posted: 12/6/2011 9:47:02 AM EDT
[#1]
I honestly think a scope is a bit much for a SHTF gun.  I would look at a red dot.  If you're still wanting a 1-4x scope there are plenty of good choices out there depending on your budget.
Link Posted: 12/6/2011 10:00:35 AM EDT
[#2]
I have a red dot on the gun now and cant hit crap with it.  i mean like 6" groups at 50yrds.  while with my BUIS i consistently have 2-3" groups at 75yrds.   thats why i wanted to ditch the red dot and go with a scope.
Link Posted: 12/6/2011 10:03:08 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

i have a spikes tactical with 16" barrel.  i'd like for it to double as a SHTF gun and a hog hunting gun.