Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/12/2010 12:53:17 PM EDT
Hey guys, I am new to owning guns, just bought this as my first self owned gun, I have shot other peoples and such but never had one until this.  I am now wanting to put a red dot/scope combo on my S&W 15-22, I have been looking into the primary arms m4 style red dot with the scope combo, basically wanting a red dot for plinking then have a quick detach/retach scope so I can shoot at distance when I want to.  What exactly do I need to accomplish this?  What are the AK and GSG5 mount options?  What are people talking about when they say co-witness?

I have the S&W MOE edition if that helps with my options at all.

sorry for all the questions about stuff everyone here knows, but I am just getting into the shooting game.  Thanks
Link Posted: 7/12/2010 1:24:15 PM EDT
[#1]
For the AK get a kvar mount or an Ultimak,
AK Mount

stay away from kalinka mounts both mine were crooked
Link Posted: 7/12/2010 2:36:46 PM EDT
[#2]
The AK and GSG mount option are for the AK and GSG.  You don't want those for your AR.  If you are wanting to use a red dot for close in and a scope for longer range, then you need to invest in some high quality quick detach mounts so that they will retain zero.  It still is not ideal.  You would be better off getting the PA M3 with cantileaver mount and add a magnifier behind it on a flip-to-side mount.  Then you can use the red dot at 1X, and flip the magnifier when you want to shoot at distance.  Another option would be a variable power DMR-style scope.
Link Posted: 7/12/2010 4:38:18 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted: