Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 6/24/2010 9:02:30 AM EDT
Hey everyone, as you may have guessed I'm new at this and just finished putting together a DPMS AP4 carbine with plenty of goodies. My problem though, I sighted in the EOTech 512 holographic sight nice and easy. But when I use my Troy rear BUIS with the front sight post my shots are high and to the right. Now I am not familiar at all with AR-15 iron sights. Only ever shot a glock and shotgun. To get my shots where they should be I had to lower the front sight post pretty far and slide the rear peep sight all the way to the left. What am I doing wrong? Or is this typical? Please feel free to pick on me of course!
Link Posted: 6/24/2010 9:22:46 AM EDT
[#1]
So it's hitting point of aim right?

You have have done it right, depending on your eyes.
All my rear irons need to be pretty left of center for windage.
That's just the way my eyes are.

Another thing that will change windage and elevation is not looking through the center of the rear aprature.
Keep your head as straight up as possible and don't lean your head over the stock.
I used to lean over the stock when I shot off the bench.  Now I try to bring the stock to my face,
rather than lean my head on the stock.

ETA  Welcome to the craziness.  You'll find some real experts here.  
You'll also find people who know everything about everything, but that's part of the fun.
Link Posted: 6/24/2010 9:36:44 AM EDT
[#2]