Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/10/2017 11:21:39 PM EDT
Heyo folks,

Been screwing around with the 7mm Mauser and thought, "What if the Germans during WWII decided to give the 7mm Mauser the Kurz treatment?" So lo and behold I decided to do it via image editor. What I need help in is finding out the potential ballistics. My guestimates put it between the 7.62x39 and 6.8 SPC in terms of ballistic performance, but I am a complete rookie for this.

Here is the cartridge I decided to make because I felt like it. The only thing that has been changed is the size of the bullet and the case length. The shoulder and neck are unchanged. The top cartridge is using a 160-grain projectile. The Kurzer's case length is 41.2mm, which is practically the only factor that changed. I appreciate any help you guys could provide. 
Link Posted: 5/10/2017 11:31:11 PM EDT
[#1]
OP has no idea of how German Squad tactics at the time worked.
Link Posted: 5/11/2017 8:48:49 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
OP has no idea of how German Squad tactics at the time worked.
View Quote
Well not all of us made it past middle school reading comprehension. There's always next year tho! 
Link Posted: 5/11/2017 9:34:21 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 5/11/2017 9:53:26 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
IMHO... probably closer to 7.62x39 ballistics then 6.8.

Interesting thought though.
View Quote
Probably, in the middle of trying to figure out the case capacity and proper powder to run it through the powley computer.
Link Posted: 5/11/2017 12:16:54 PM EDT
[#5]
Okay, back and ran the 7mm Kurzer in the Powley Computer using rough estimates. The Kurzer has the advantage in case capacity thanks to the case just being a cut-down 7mm Mauser. If anyone has any qualms about this or advice, please add in.

Edit
Link Posted: 5/11/2017 7:37:40 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
Heyo folks,