Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/23/2016 12:56:41 AM EDT
This is my first time posting on a forum like this but I had a couple questions for some of the experts out there.

Today I went to the range with ~100 rounds of Aguila 5.56 62g ammunition. It didn't go so well. After about 30 rounds I noticed the bolt was not properly seating fully into the chamber. I have a relatively new AR (only fired 100 rounds through it in a previous trip to the range with American Eagle ammo) and was hoping that it was just the ammunition that was messing me up. I also noticed that the primer was coming off in the rifle and causing jams/getting stuck in my magazines. I went to some of the older guys at the range and they were helpful, telling me that there was shavings of either copper or brass that were getting stuck near the chamber and any distance from the magazine well to the chamber. They suggested that this was my problem and I should find better ammunition.

My question to y'all is, what kind of ammo can I get that's cheap (I'm a broke college student) but will also not crap out on me like the ammo today?

I would also like to know what to look for in ammunition. Please, explain to me like I'm 5, as I know terminology, but have yet to learn all the acronyms.

Thank you guys (and possibly girls) very much!

If you need any of the information about my rifle here it is:

Upper -> 5.56 Palmetto State Armory, 1:7 twist, Melonite coating on the barrel
Lower -> multi caliber, Bravo Company Manufacturing.
Link Posted: 10/23/2016 1:19:16 AM EDT
[#1]
Wolf Gold is what you seek.

But you should also clean your chamber and have it checked with a go, no go gauge.
Link Posted: 10/23/2016 1:31:49 AM EDT
[#2]