Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Piston Systems
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 7/3/2011 7:42:47 AM EDT
JUST WANTED OPINIONS ON THE BEST PISTON AR TODAY.
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 7:51:49 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm sure there will be plenty of HK 416 answers with no experience behind the weapon.
Seeing as I have no experience with the 416, I would say POF.
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 8:01:09 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
JUST WANTED OPINIONS ON THE BEST PISTON AR TODAY.

There's not one that's "BEST" at this point in time.  All have a unique take on how to replace the gas tube with a piston with most designs being similar to each other.  PWS and RRA are probably the two designs that are the most unique.  The HK, while not perfect, is probably going to be the most widely tested and used rifle, at least from a military standpoint.

Which rifle offers the features you want?  Which rifle seems to offer the best value for the money?  These questions are more easily answered...
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 8:03:22 AM EDT
[#3]
LWRC is King
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 8:13:24 AM EDT
[#4]
My CMMG
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 8:50:02 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 8:54:02 AM EDT
[#6]
AK...............
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 9:03:19 AM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
I think you'll get about 100 different answers depending on who you ask.

X2, Do you want a piston built upper or a retro fit? My piston of choice is my LMT MRP cqb, sold my bulky heavy POF for it. Sort of like rack grade AR vs. boutique imo.
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 9:05:15 AM EDT
[#8]
Who makes the best fried chicken?

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 9:13:59 AM EDT
[#9]
You and I seem to be in the same boat. Buying my first AR and looking at "pistons." Have found LMT and Ruger to be the most talked about and I'm trying to decide between the 2.
Link Posted: 7/3/2011 9:21:38 AM EDT
[#10]
Quoted:
LWRC is King

This.

FWIW, it's the only other (besides HK) piston AR with combat use.