Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR-15 / M-16 Retro Forum
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/31/2014 11:55:21 AM EDT
This is my first attempt at aging a lower. It is a RTI grade C kit that my buddy bought and decided to leave worn. I studied the real deal thread and looked for common sense wear spots. Both he and I are very happy with the results. AR15sport pencil barrel is on order to complete the build.

Link Posted: 7/31/2014 12:08:43 PM EDT
[#1]
Looks very nice, good work.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 12:11:08 PM EDT
[#2]
awesome!
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 12:21:40 PM EDT
[#3]
Looks great, please detail the process.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 12:49:11 PM EDT
[#4]
Looking very nice.  Who's lower?  NDS,  80%?  Hope it shoots great.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 2:41:21 PM EDT
[#5]
That looks really good, I am also interested in the aging and wear process.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 3:16:41 PM EDT
[#6]
Good job on aging that lower to match the upper OP

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

Looks like older DPMS or Essential Arms cast lower to me.
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 3:57:25 PM EDT
[#7]
It can be hard to get started but once you break one in, they are kindof fun to rough up!

Although I have a new NDS lower right now that needs BFPU treatment and I am reluctant to get started!  
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 4:07:15 PM EDT
[#8]
Very nice!
Link Posted: 7/31/2014 5:04:42 PM EDT
[#9]
Quoted:

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:

Quoted:

It is another RGM pre ban A1 lower. I picked up a few of them as did my buddy. This lower had some casting flaws under the the perfect coating. It seemed to be the perfect candidate for the process. The hardest part is committing to the first rub of the sandpaper.