Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Pistols
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/10/2014 6:52:07 AM EDT
I was wanting to either build, or preferably buy a lightweight AR pistol (upper & lower).
This ultralight build is my inspiration.

Tactical Yellow Visor Ultralight SBR

I like the 10.5 & 11" barrels, don't really want to go shorter than that due to concerns over reliability and ballistics.
If it ends up being 26" overall length, I wont mind because that will allow me the option to use a vertical grip (I think)
but if I am unable to use a vertical or angular forward grip it wont bother me.

(I've never owned an AR before, and this will be my go-to weapon once I am comfortable with it's performance.)
The problem is, I'm kind of a cheap bastard, but I've never built an AR before, and I don't have any of the "build tools".

I'm worried about warranties (not really having a warranty if I build it) and expense (if I buy a complete upper and lower).
I know it will probably be cheaper if I build it, but I don't have experience on my side.
If I knew where to buy a complete upper that was very light and a complete lower that was very light, I would just buy that, but I'm in the dark on that at this point.

It is mandatory that the lower is registered as a pistol (this will be getting the SB15 arm brace).
But please don't suggest anything that involves me buying an SB15 arm brace over the net. Im leary of the "approved" status this device received.
I think it could end up being just another trap to try and capture customer information, so I will be looking for one to buy in a face-to-face transaction.

Oh, and one more thing, I want to be able to drop in a .22lr kit.
What should I do?
Link Posted: 4/10/2014 10:52:02 AM EDT
[#1]
Halp! Pleeze!
Link Posted: 4/10/2014 12:03:02 PM EDT
[#2]
PSA has a pistol build kit for sale right now, includes everything but your stripped lower for 480.00