Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/1/2014 2:32:48 PM EDT
Ordered up an new dpms gii hunter, was at the range today and it will not cycle 150, 165 or 168 grain rounds, ran 175's pretty well tho. All the casing have heavy scratch marks on the and some of the casings had marks from the twin ejectors. It will fire the round but not push the bolt back far enough to catch the next rd and feed, it did fail to eject a few rds when i first started shooting. Any advise or help would be sweet. Thanks Brent....Just an FYI im pretty new to the AR world and new to AR15.com  Thanks
Link Posted: 9/1/2014 2:39:01 PM EDT
[#1]
Does it have an adjustable gas block?
Link Posted: 9/1/2014 2:55:34 PM EDT
[#2]
Welcome. Were any of these reloaded ammunition?  Need more specifics on the types & makes of ammo.

Did you lubricate the bolt carrier group well?  I run my large AR's with a thick coat of oil on them, mainly Slip2000.

Quoted:
Does it have an adjustable gas block?
View Quote

The GII hunter does not have an adjustable gas block. None of the 6 introductory GII models had an adjustable gas block that I saw at SHOT.
Link Posted: 9/1/2014 3:09:33 PM EDT
[#3]
No reloads...150 grain Remington UMC to get it on paper, 165 hornady superformance sst's just cause i had it laying around from a hunting rifle, 168 GMM, 175 Fioochi match rounds which have serria match king bullets loaded in them. I did lube the bolt carrier pretty heavily from what i though with just rem oil i had around. I know dpms recommends remington "claw" oil for lube
Link Posted: 9/1/2014 3:11:40 PM EDT
[#4]
Not sure that Superformance is such a good idea in a gas gun.
Link Posted: 9/1/2014 3:16:40 PM EDT
[#5]
Its not...its not good in any gun from what ive saw...i learned its not go in the ar after 2rds...got marks from the twin ejectors imprinted in the base of the casing
Link Posted: 9/1/2014 3:22:10 PM EDT
[#6]