Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/20/2012 3:44:33 PM EDT
Hi, sorry for the rookie question but I'm new to this world. I have a New Frontier lower and just purchased a complete upper from someones Smith & Wesson's M&P15 Sport. The upper comes without a dust gate or forward assist. I understand that if i keep my gun clean and put away I can do without the dust gate. However will I need to have the forward assist? I am contemplating selling the M&P15 Sport upper and buying an upper with the forward assist and dust gate. Please let me know what you all think. thanks!
Link Posted: 6/20/2012 4:04:25 PM EDT
[#1]
Forward assist or the ejection port cover is not necessary for a range rifle.
Link Posted: 6/20/2012 4:19:23 PM EDT
[#2]
A forward assist is very handy for easing a round into the chamber.
While they might be rare there is the occasional AD slamming the BCG closed on a live round.
Link Posted: 6/20/2012 4:47:18 PM EDT
[#3]
I don't have them on my SHTF rifles.   IMHO they are not really needed.
Link Posted: 6/20/2012 4:48:36 PM EDT
[#4]
Not having a forward assist is not your biggest problem with that setup.

Link Posted: 6/20/2012 4:50:23 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
While they might be rare there is the occasional AD slamming the BCG closed on a live round.