Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/30/2015 7:57:16 PM EDT
OK so I got a screaming deal on a Rock River LE 1040 from my LGS. NIB never shot but at the factory, and now I am looking to build it up. I am wondering since I am a noob with ARs but not to guns. What things would you guys and gals do. No quad rail yet I have a EO Tech and not much more. Please let me know. I want a quad on it but if the price is right maybe a total new upper receiver.
Thanks in advance
Mark
Link Posted: 11/30/2015 8:01:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Well, I'm a lefty so here is where I start:

1.) Mega arms slide lock charging handle or Rainier Arms Raptor $50-80
2.)CAA stock cheek saddle (makes a signfigant improvement on cheek weld). $20
3.) Ambi/single point sling mount. $10-20
Link Posted: 11/30/2015 8:03:16 PM EDT
[#2]
Would you go with the ambi safety?
Link Posted: 11/30/2015 8:08:49 PM EDT
[#3]
Honestly, I've become so use to the standard safety that I've never used an ambi safety. The big handicap for left handers on an AR-15 is the charging handle IMO. Mag release actually works in a left handers favor. Safety is so-so. Oh, forgot to mention, I also buy a new grip. I like the Ergo ambi grip and B5 systems. I have them both on my ARs.
Link Posted: 11/30/2015 8:12:35 PM EDT
[#4]
Yea the grip and butstock are def on the list too!
Link Posted: 11/30/2015 8:55:42 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Would you go with the ambi safety?
View Quote

As a lefty, yep or a reversed single sided safety. The nice thing on ambi safeties is how easy you can sweep them back on.

However a normal safety is quite good if you are right handed.

I would swap out the grip, with a LaRue APEG or a 'steep angle' Magpul K2.

Any other mods, I would suggest you wait on until you shoot the rifle some.
Link Posted: 11/30/2015 11:16:12 PM EDT
[#6]
Personally I would do this: